Honda names WTCC drivers

Honda has signed up Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro to drive its new European-spec Civic race cars in the 2013 FIA World Touring Car Championship.

Honda WTCC 2013 - Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro
Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro

Of course, Tarquini is a hugely experienced and successful saloon car racer, having won the 1994 British Touring Car Championship, the 2003 European Touring Car Championship and the 2009 WTCC drivers’ titles.

The move to Honda reunites the two drivers as team-mates, as both previously drove for Seat Sport in the WTCC. Monteiro joined the Spanish outfit in 2007, just after his Formula One career had drawn to a close.

Development of the WTCC Civic has been entrusted to J.A.S. Motorsport, while the 1.6 litre turbocharged engine is being built by Honda with input from Mugen. As part of the programme, a single car is going to compete at this year’s last three rounds with Tiago Monteiro behind the wheel.

Honda Civic Super 2000 2012 (Rendering) Front Side, Rear SideHonda Civic Super 2000 2012 (Rendering) Side

Although Honda certainly faces a big challenge in 2013, Chevrolet’s withdrawal from the WTCC at the end of this season should make the task a bit easier.

Related posts:
Chevrolet exits the WTCC
Honda to enter the WTCC
2012 WTCC calendar

No comments:

Post a Comment