2014 World Car Awards finalists

The finalists in all five 2014 World Car Awards categories have been announced.

For the World Car of the Year, World Performance Car and World Luxury Car prizes, an international jury of sixty-nine motoring journalists has decided the shortlists following a secret ballot. 2014 is the inaugural year of the World Luxury Car award, which is intended to encompass higher-priced, lower-volume premium models.

World Car of the Year
  • Audi A3
  • BMW 4 Series
  • BMW i3
  • Cadillac CTS
  • Citroën C4 Picasso
  • Ford Fusion / Mondeo
  • Infiniti Q50
  • Jeep Cherokee
  • Lexus IS
  • Mazda3
  • Peugeot 308
  • Škoda Octavia
BMW i3 (2014) Front Side
The BMW i3 is a finalist in three
2014 World Car Awards categories.

World Performance Car
  • Alfa Romeo 4C
  • Audi RS 6 Avant
  • BMW M6 Gran Coupé
  • Chevrolet Corvette Stingray
  • Ferrari 458 Speciale
  • Ford Fiesta ST
  • Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 Roadster
  • Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG
  • Porsche 911 GT3
  • Porsche 911 Turbo
  • Volkswagen Golf GTI

World Luxury Car
  • Bentley Flying Spur
  • BMW X5
  • Cadillac ELR
  • Cadillac Escalade
  • Maserati Ghibli
  • Maserati Quattroporte
  • Mercedes-Benz S-Class
  • Porsche Macan
  • Range Rover Sport
  • Rolls-Royce Wraith

For the World Green Car and World Car Design of the Year awards the process is slightly different. The candidates have been chosen by panels of five experts in each field but, as with the other classes, it’ll be up to the journalists to decide the eventual winners.

World Green Car
  • Audi A3 Sportback e-tron (+ Audi e-gas)
  • BMW i3
  • Honda Accord Hybrid
  • Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV
  • Volkswagen XL1

World Car Design of the Year
  • BMW i3
  • Cadillac CTS
  • Citroën C4 Picasso
  • Mazda3
  • Lexus IS
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class
  • Volkswagen XL1

As in previous years, the jurors now have to vote on the shortlists to determine the top three models in each category. Those will be revealed at the Geneva International Motor Show on the 4th of March, before the ultimate winners are named at the New York International Auto Show on the 17th of April.

Related posts:
2014 NACTOY winners
2014 European COTY nominees
2013 World Car Awards winners

No comments:

Post a Comment