2016 Formula One calendar revised

There are still 21 events on the schedule and all the host venues remain the same, but the FIA World Motor Sport Council has agreed some tweaks to the 2016 Formula One calendar.

Here are the key changes:
  • The opening round in Australia will take place two weeks earlier than originally planned.
  • Bahrain and China swap places, plus amended dates maintain a two-week gap between the first two races.
  • Great Britain and Azerbaijan's inaugural European Grand Prix swap places. Revised dates mean there's just a one-week gap between Canada and the Baku event, which should be a logistics challenge for the teams.
  • Hungary and Germany swap places. As the Germany date is unaltered, this creates a four-week summer break.
  • Malaysia is moved back by a week. Consequently, the gap between Singapore and Malaysia is extended to two weeks, but the gap between Malaysia and Japan is reduced to one week.
  • Mexico is moved back by a week. Consequently, the gap between USA and Mexico is extended to two weeks, but the gap between Mexico and Brazil is reduced to one week.
Baku (Azerbaijan) Circuit
A new Baku street circuit will host the 2016 European Grand Prix.

2016 FIA Formula One World Championship - Provisional Calendar
Round Date Event
1 20 March Grand Prix of Australia (Melbourne)
2 03 April Grand Prix of Bahrain (Sakhir)
3 17 April Grand Prix of China (Shanghai)
4 01 May Grand Prix of Russia (Sochi)
5 15 May Grand Prix of Spain (Barcelona)
6 29 May Grand Prix of Monaco (Monte Carlo)
7 12 June Grand Prix of Canada (Montreal)
8 19 June Grand Prix of Europe (Baku)
9 03 July Grand Prix of Austria (Spielberg)
10 10 July Grand Prix of Great Britain (Silverstone)
11 24 July Grand Prix of Hungary (Budapest)
12 31 July Grand Prix of Germany (Hockenheim)
13 28 August Grand Prix of Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
14 04 September Grand Prix of Italy (Monza)
15 18 September Grand Prix of Singapore (Marina Bay)
16 02 October Grand Prix of Malaysia (Sepang)
17 09 October Grand Prix of Japan (Suzuka)
18 23 October Grand Prix of USA (Austin)
19 06 November Grand Prix of Mexico (Mexico City)
20 13 November Grand Prix of Brazil (São Paulo)
21 27 November Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

Related post:
2016 Formula One calendar announced

No comments:

Post a Comment